Club History


August 18, 1920

The 19th Amendment was ratified, giving women the right to vote.  One man's signature was the tipping point

Just 22 days after the 19th Amendment was ratified, the Republican Women's Club of Frederick County was formed.  It was the FIRST women's club in the country and one step ahead of the creation of the Maryland Federation of Republican Women (MFRW)

October, 1964

Forty four years after women were granted the right to vote, a handful of women gathered at the home of Sue Liddy in Round Bay.  Those present included Marjorie Holt, Charlotte Eldridge, Betty Eby, Sue Liddy, and Genie Sack.

Their goal was to form a Republican Women's club in the area.  The club's efforts would shape the political landscape and springboard many women into elected positions.


After serving locally as Supervisor of Elections (1964), and Clerk of the Circuit Court (1966), Marjorie Holt was elected to congress, holding the position until 1987.  She was the first Republican woman in Maryland to be elected to Congress.   She left to continue her law practice and raise her family.  

Although Marjorie Holt was a founding member of the SPRWC, she never served as president or any elected member of the Board.  She did however, after her political career ended, serve as a board member, providing guidance and direction for the Club, mentoring young women interested in pursuing a political office.  She passed away in January 2018 at the age of 97.    


In 2012 the Board of SPRWC established a scholarship in honor of Congresswoman Holt, and has been awarding scholarships based on written essays to local high school girls to assist with college.  Each year a committee of women in the club read the essays written - each year there is a different topic - and at our annual Spring fundraiser we host the young winner for lunch and present her $1,000 scholarship check.   Young women must be a resident of and attend school in Anne Arundel County.

Club Presidents


Christine Ronk (2018 - present)

Club Presidents


Meghan Lawson (2016-2017)

Liz League (2014-2015)

Amy Leahy (2010-2013)

Anne Rutherford (2008-2009)

Faith Loudon (2004-2007)

Maria Mercado (2001-2003)


Flo Wentz (2000-2001)

Janet Bauer (1998-1999)

Marian Hunt (1996-1997)

Rita Brandon (1993-1994)

Mary Rohe (1989-1991)

Jean Rude (1989-1991)


Lee Sexton (1983-1988)

Jo Anne Pittaway (1979-1982)

Ruthanne Gary (1976-1978)

Marian Kirkley (1972-1976)

Joan Alspaw (1970-1971)

Moya Mulqueen (1969-1970)


Flo Barrow (1968)

Virginia Love (1967-1968)

Jean (Genie) Sack (1965-1966)

Betty Eby (1963-1964)